Tuesday, July 30, 2013

RELEASE EVENT & GIVEAWAY: Escaping Me by Elizabeth Lee


 
All she wanted to do was forget. Forget the memory of walking in on her boyfriend in the middle of, well, another girl. Forget how she had her entire life planned out. And, forget about being perfect all the time. Unfortunately, she was Whitney Vandaveer and despite the fact that she moved to the middle of nowhere—she couldn't.

He always knew he would never be more than nothing. No job, no money, no future. Cole Pritchett had accepted the fact that he would always be the screw up and he was okay with it. Until he met her.

Here's the thing they quickly found out—sometimes we all need a little help escaping who we think we are.


 
 
TEASER
 
 

 
Elizabeth Lee Bio:
 



When I'm not writing or playing the part of wife and mother, you can find me dancing back-up for Beyonce, singing back-up for Miranda, or sunning myself on the beach with a drink in hand. Here's the thing about being born and raised in a small town—you have a very vivid imagination! Now, I channel it all to create stories where the girl always ends up with the right guy, first kisses are magical, and a happy ending is just that!




 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, July 29, 2013

Review: Promise Me by Barbie Bohrman

 



Sabrina Chandler must go back home to face her past and confront her once best friend and ex-boyfriend who betrayed her in the worst way possible.
 

Returning to her past also means coming face to face with the boy who was standing in the shadows one fateful night. The same boy she made a promise to and who unknowingly walked away with her heart.
 
Can she move forward with her life when her heart is still 10 years in the past?

  BUY ON: AMAZON
 
REVIEW:  
 
Promise Me by Barbie Bohrman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

From the moment I picked up this book until the moment I put it down, it consumed me!

I'm pretty sure that it has everything to do with Tyler. I was deep crushing on him. No, this was more than a crush. I was am in deep heart-clenching love with him. OF COURSE, since I loved him so hard...he had to crush me even harder. Here I was all blissfully in love and then.......

right hook
left hook
body slam
stomp
spit


Yeah, that's what happened to my heart. Aside from the fact that I loved Tyler, there's a lot more that I liked about the book. I really like the whole idea of the plot. High school girl gets her heart broken by her boyfriend and best friend, high school girl takes off and makes something of herself, girl comes back for 10 year high school reunion even hotter, high school boyfriend wants her back (he's soooo sorry), ex-BFF gets fat and even more pathetic, AND, most importantly, girl snags the SEXY school bad boy at high school reunion....LOVED IT! <-yeah, that's a big run-on sentence, but I like it. :)



I've seen some mixed reviews and I guess I can understand it. It's not exactly a "fast" moving story, but I thought it was paced well. Plus, there's some pretty serious heart breaking that happens around 70%. From looking at reviews, I can see that some people don't get over what happens and I get that. If you want my opinion, just look at those 5 stars up there. Tyler totally redeemed himself in my eyes. Barbie Borhman created the ultimate dream guy for me, then let him break my heart, and then somehow won me over again. That's what earned her those 5 stars. I was a hard sell after what happened and she pulled it off. Kudos to her. Julia said it best...

"Sabrina, the heart wants what the heart wants. Fuck the signs."




If you want to read a story about second chances, mistakes, and redemption, look no further. I won't be forgetting Tyler anytime soon. He has engraved himself permanently in my brain.

My rating: 5 stars!!
Reviewed by:

AUTHOR LINKS
Barbie Bohrman

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Review: Promise Me This by Sarah Ashley Jones

Promise Me This (Promise Me, #1)Promise Me This by Sarah Ashley Jones
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

WARNING: This book is intended for readers 17+ due to strong language and sexual situations.

Welcome to the South - where the tea is sweet and the accents are sweeter. This Southern way of life is all Charlie has ever known. It’s not until she loses the only person who pushed her to break free of the Southern Belle mold that she starts living the life she needs and not the life her parents forced on her.

Jhett has lived on the edge for as long as he could remember - constantly teetering back and forth between being a rock star and living a normal life. His rebellious and sometimes arrogant attitude is known to get him into trouble, especially with the girls who hang on his every move.

Charlie never thought that a trip to pack up her brother’s apartment would leave her feeling even more unsettled about the grainy details of her brother’s death. Her quest for information leads her straight to his old hangout and into arms of Jhett, who suspiciously knows more about her situation than he ever should. 

Only a few questions remain - Can you trust someone based on their word alone? And if you make a promise, how far will you go to keep it?




This was a fantastic debut novel by Sarah Ashley Jones and I'm definitely looking forward to more of her work. When we first meet Charlie she's been sent to California to pack up her brother's belongings to bring back to Tennessee. Cameron wasn't only her brother, but her twin, so the pain of his death is nearly unbearable. Cameron was the independent twin. The twin that left their snooty small town and never looked back. He loved life and lived it to his fullest, regardless of what anyone else said. Charlie was the dutiful twin. She went to the college her parents wanted her to and chose the major that they wanted. She wasn't following her dreams, and Cameron constantly tried to get her to change her ways. To be true to herself, but she always resisted.

One night when visiting a nightclub that Cameron used to frequent, she meets his best friend, Jhett. She's thrown off because her brother never mentioned him, but Jhett makes it clear that he knows all about her and proves that he really did know Jhett. It's uncanny the things that Jhett knows, so it's obvious that Cameron loved to talk about his sister. Jhett and Charlie begin to spend more time together and soon she's agreeing to throw up the middle finger to her parents & everyone in Tennessee and decides to stay in California for the summer.

It's quickly obvious that Jhett and Charlie are burning for each other, and I loved their chemistry! They were so hot for each other and we didn't have to wait long for them to explode with lust. I was so glad that the author didn't take a long time having them dance around each other. Once they were not friends I loved watching their relationship grow. They were literally perfect for each other in every single way. And as a cherry on top, I loved that Charlie was able to be with someone who knew and loved Cameron as much as she did. There is very heartbreaking event that had me sobbing and clutching my Kindle to my chest, but in the end, I was left happy and satisfied.

Charlie was such a great female main character. I was afraid that she was going to be too timid with Jhett and what she wanted, but I couldn't have been more wrong. There must've been something in that California air, because when she wanted something, she went after it until she got it. She stood up for herself when necessary and told it like it is. And I loved every second of it. She's also a pretty damn funny drunk. I wouldn't mind splitting a twelve pack with her.

I've never seen you more beautiful than you are right now. You can do all those things, Charlie. I believe in you.

Sigh. Do you love Jhett already? I know I do!! He was awesome with Charlie, and just downright amazing in general. He pushed her to be herself, to let go of what everyone else wanted and go after what she wants. He's also an incredibly sexy, tatted up, former rocker who loves to cook. Ummm, does it get any better than that?!

All in all, I love Promise Me This. I laughed, I cried, I swooned. I'm going to be Twitter stalking Sarah Ashley Jones until book 2 comes out. And no worries, there isn't really a cliff hanger. As the author says, it's a "hopeful-hanger" and she's not lying.


ARC was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewed By

Friday, July 26, 2013

BLOG TOUR: Axel by Harper Sloan

(Corps Security series, book 1)
Fate hasn't always been friends with Isabelle West. In fact, fate has been a downright bitch. 

Isabelle has learned the hard way how hard life can be when fate isn't by your side. It can hand you dreams on silver platters, but it can snatch them right back and hand you nightmares. One thing Isabelle knew for sure fate was consistent with was taking away everything she ever loved. 

For the last two years Isabelle has been slowly clearing the clouds of her past. Happiness is finally on the horizon. She has a thriving business, great friends, and her life is back. All she has to do is jump over the last hurdle...her ex-husband. 

When problems start causing her to fear her new life, and memories that are better left forgotten start rushing to the surface the last thing she needs is a ghost from her past to come knocking on her door. 

Axel never thought he would look into the eyes of Isabelle West again, and he wasn't sure he wanted to now. He carried his anger for so long he isn't sure he can just turn it off, but when he is faced with protecting her and an unexpected desire to have her again, life gets a little more complicated. 

How will Axel and Isabelle deal when all their cards are put on the table and everything they thought was true blows up in their faces?


*I was gifted a copy of Axel in exchange for an honest review*


Holy fucking alpha male overload. And believe me when I say...I mean that in the best way possible. This story doesn't have just one hot alpha. It doesn't give you a little extra with two hot alphas. Nope. There are freaking FIVE. Five sexy as all fucking get-out alpha males in this book. How in the...I don't even...I give up. Now granted, we get glimpses of four of them here and there (it is Axel's story, after all) but they are still around just being all protective and masculine and well...alpha! Your panties don't stand a chance, ladies. 

Axel is the heartbreaking, yet beautiful story of second chance love. As a teenager and madly in love, Izzy never had a doubt in her mind that she would spend the rest of her life with Axel. She didn't want a future without him. But when Axel joins the Marines, fate intervenes and smashes any future Izzy had planned with Axel into dust. But the funny thing with fate is that you never know when it's going to knock you down or help you up...and Izzy never imagined fate would help her up and bring Axel back into her life when she needed him the most. 

I love second chance romance novels, and Axel didn't disappoint. The love and connection between Izzy and Axel was so intense that it was almost overwhelming at times! I mean, it was just 100 percent obvious that there was no one else for these two -- they were just meant to be together. The scenes between the sheets...and up against a wall...were hot enough to set your panties on fire. But what else would you expect from an alpha male?! As much as I loved the steamy scenes, I enjoyed the sweet, heartfelt scenes just as much. There is just so much history between these two, and it makes you root for them. You want them to get their happily ever after that they both so deserve. 

While I adore Axel and Izzy, the secondary characters made this story even better. Izzy's best friends, Dee, was just adorable! Her willingness to completely uproot her life and move to get Izzy away from her abusive husband made me love her from the get go. As much as I love Dee, I would have to say that Shay gives her a run for her money as my favorite secondary character. Who doesn't love a gay cross-dressing hairdresser?! No one. Absolutely no one! And the other alphas/friends of Axel's made me suuuper anxious for the other books in this series! My one complaint would be Greg's overuse of "baby girl." It's...excessive. I understand Izzy is one of his very best friends, but is it necessary to call her that in every conversation they have? To me, no. 

Overall, Axel was a really good read and if you love alpha males and second chance romances, you should bump this bad boy up to the top of your TBR...go ahead...I'll wait ;)









Reviewed by:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

About the Author

Harper lives in small town Georgia just a short drive from her hometown of Peachtree City. She (and her 3 daughters) enjoy ruling the house they dubbed 'Estrogen Ocean', much to her husband's chagrin. Harper has a borderline unhealthy obsession with books; you can almost ALWAYS find her with her e-reader attache. She enjoys bad reality TV and cheesy romantic flicks. Her favorite kind of hero -- the super alpha kind!

Harper started using writing as a way to unwind when the house went to sleep at night; and with a house full of crazy it was the perfect way to just relax. It didn't take long before a head full of very demanding alphas would stop at nothing to have their story told. 



Thursday, July 25, 2013

Blog Tour Stop: Sharing Harper by V. Murphy


Synopsis
A pain too hard to understand.

A struggle too deep to reach.

A love too complicated to work…but too intense to let go.

Harper Mae ran as far away as she could from her abusive past. She went to a different city and numbed her pain by using men, never sleeping with the same guy more than once.

Ryder worked at a coffee shop trying blend in with the rest of the world, desperately trying to live a normal life. After leaving a relationship and losing his family, he vowed never to fall in love again.

Until one day they are unexpectedly drawn to each other unable to let go.

Harper and Ryder’s turbulent relationship, two people who are struggling to find themselves, realize the answer lies within each other.

Secrets, so deep, that both have, end up surfacing causing irrevocable pain.

Will their love be strong enough to survive or will their pain be the downfall to their relationship?

Will Harper open up enough to share her past with Ryder or will he be just another number on her list?

Amazon Paperback: http://amzn.com/1490349685 Amazon Kindle: http://amzn.com/B00DT53YHO Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/322706

My Take
Harper Mae is very broken, damaged young woman due to disturbing events from a secret past that she ran from three years ago. She spends her days going to school, working at the shop with Rita, and her nights going out with her best friend, Skye, and sleeping around with countless men, never with the same guy more than once. She doesn't date as she believes herself incapable of loving or deserving of love. 

When she meets Ryder Kent,  a sexy strangers at a coffee shop, she's instantly taken by him. Unable to get him off of her mind for weeks, she's not prepared for him to be the knight in shining armor that comes to her rescue when he stops an attempted assault at a night club. 

From that day forward, Ryder makes it clear that he wants her, all of her, but Harper's terrified of letting anyone in again. She's afraid that if he finds out her past, he'll never be able to love her and he'll leave, but he's insistent that he'll never leave her, no matter what. 

Can Harper finally let go of the pain of the past in order to have a future with Ryder, or will she continue to push him away as she continues to self-destruct?
***
V. Murphy's debut novel it gritty, dark, and keeps your interest. The disturbing descriptions of Harper's nightmares and flashbacks keep the reader engaged and itching to figure out the complete story. They have you shivering at the depictions of the horrible things that Harper had to endure in her past, and as awful as it is, you find yourself needing to know what exactly was all done to her, and who the culprit was. 

Harper and Ryan are both very damaged individuals, so it's only natural that they are drawn to each other. Their chemistry is off the charts, especially in one very sexy night club dance scene. It's no surprise that they find themselves sans clothes quite often. 

It was heartwarming to see Ryder to protective and supportive of Harper, but for me, he became a bit frustrating when he would push Harper to open up to him and let him all the way in, but he refused to do the same. I also felt that Ryder fell for Harper a little too quickly, but upon getting his back story, I can somewhat understand how easy it was for him to fall. 

There is going to be a second book, but this one does not really end in a cliffhanger. It's more of a what happens next, so don't be afraid to read, because you won't be cliffhanged!

About the Author
Her name is V. Murphy and she loves everything about reading (some may call her a bibliophile). She is a current graduate from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and heading out west to live the California dream while pursuing her masters degree in school counseling at the University of San Diego. You can find her writing in a Panera, small coffeeshop or on campus. When she is not spending her time in school or reading, she loves to write, bake and shop.

Links: Facebook: www.facebook.com/VMurphyAuthor
Twitter: www.twitter.com/vmurphy16
Email: vmmurphy4@gmail.com
Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17968360-sharing-harper
Facebook event: https://www.facebook.com/events/431166770324336/?ref=22

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Cover Reveal and Giveaway: Two Roads by L.M. Augustine





Two Roads by L.M. Augustine


Release date: August 26th, 2013

Category/Genre: New Adult Romance

Blurb:

The only person poetry-loving Cali Monroe hates more than herself is Logan Waters, the geeky kid who lives in the dorm building next to hers.

Ever since Cali's parents told her she would amount to nothing, she has felt entirely inadequate. Friendless and alone, she takes on the mean girl role in hopes it will make her feel better--and Logan serves as the perfect target. He infuriates her with his obnoxiously long lashes, his all too perfect dimpled smile, and his complete lack of personality outside of his intelligence. It doesn't hurt that he's part of the reason her brother is dead, either. So Cali hates him, and he returns the favor. Thus, their prank-filled, insult-driven rivalry is born, and torturing Logan quickly becomes the highlight of her life.

But when Cali's parents set them up on a blind date, she begins to realize Logan might not be as boring as she always thought. He shares her love of poetry, takes a sadistic pleasure in making fun of crepes, and he makes her blush when he calls her smile pretty.

And hey, maybe those long lashes of his aren't that obnoxious after all...

Add it on Goodreads!



Follow the author:




~Cover designed by E.M. Tippetts Book Designs~


Giveaway:

Review: Girl with Guitar by Caisey Quinn

 


 

New Adult. MA 17+ Content.

After Kylie’s dad dies in a freak accident, he leaves her with nothing other than her crazy step-mother, Darla, and the ability to play guitar. When Darla kicks Kylie out and she loses her job all in the same day, she hops a bus to Nashville determined to make her late father’s dreams come true. Waitressing and saving her pennies to record a demo, her big break comes when she’s asked to join a tour going down the tubes with once platinum album-selling country music superstar Trace Corbin. But touring with Trace is hardly a dream come true since he’s pretty much drinking his career down the drain. If Kylie can’t pull Trace out of his rut, he’ll pull her and her dreams down with him.



BUY HERE:

REVIEW:
Girl with Guitar is like a hit country song that I want to leave on repeat! EASY 5 Stars!

The magic begins in Nashville! Seriously, I live here…so I know. I did a little happy dance when I started this book and realized Kylie was trekking her way down to Nashville with her guitar in tow. I felt like I’d been sent to country girl heaven! Let me just start by saying, I abso-freakin-lutely loved this book! Kylie was a girl with sass and determination. She was trying to make something good come out of the loss of her father. She knew she’d always have her music, but that was all she could really count on. She hopped on a bus with a one way ticket and didn’t look back.

 

From the get-go I loved Kylie. I’ve read a lot of books lately where the girl just cowers to the guy. That is not this girl. Kylie has backbone. She reminded me of the Kellie Pickler song, TOUGH . “There ain't nothing wrong with a woman that got a little backbone.” Anyway, Kylie has big dreams and she’s not going to let anything or anyone get in her way. Not even the sizzling, handsome, addictive, country star Trace Corbin! She’s determined she's not going to let herself get sucked into his downward spiral. She shines and she takes Nashville by storm.

Luckily, for awhile Trace makes it easy on Kylie. He is so wrapped up in his own demise that Kylie finds it easy to keep herself at a distance. But, really, who could stay away from this for long?
 
 
Eventually, Trace and Kylie connect. It’s a slow building romance. No insta-love here, but that makes it all the more sweeter. There is a steamy scene mid-way through the book. I was like… WHOA. More please.

Trace and Kylie both have their demons to overcome so the journey is anything but smooth. There is no denying their chemistry, but can they overcome their doubts? Can they overcome the pressure surrounding their careers and image?
 
 

The writing is wonderfully addictive. The story never slowed down. I stayed glued to the pages the whole time I was reading it, and now that it’s over I want more.

Actually, I’m kind of wondering if Caisey Quinn not only has the chops for being an author but also a songwriter? Check out these lyrics from the book...

 


That belongs on the radio! This is a must read. Especially for those that appreciate a little country music. I can’t wait to see where else the series leads these two!

ARC courtesy of author Caisey Quinn in exchange for an honest review.


Reviewed by:


GIRL ON TOUR
Release date: August 27, 2013

 

 
 photo CaiseyQuinn_zps64e99fc5.jpg
About the Author
Caisey Quinn is a wearer of cowgirl boots, writer and avid reader of New Adult romance, lover of wine, who is addicted to chai tea lattes. She is the author of Girl with Guitar and soon to be released Girl on Tour. A Gemini, wife, mom, and former high school English teacher living in Birmingham, Alabama, she spends her days chasing a three-year-old and her nights hiding away with her Macbook.

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Review: Killing Sarai by J.A. Redmerski


From the author of the New York Times, USA Today & Wall Street Journal bestselling novel, THE EDGE OF NEVER, comes a story of passion and survival…

Sarai was only fourteen when her mother uprooted her to live in Mexico with a notorious drug lord. Over time she forgot what it was like to live a normal life, but she never let go of her hope to escape the compound where she has been held for the past nine years.

Victor is a cold-blooded assassin who, like Sarai, has known only death and violence since he was a young boy. When Victor arrives at the compound to collect details and payment for a hit, Sarai sees him as her only opportunity for escape. But things don’t go as planned and instead of finding transport back to Tucson, she finds herself free from one dangerous man and caught in the clutches of another.

While on the run, Victor strays from his primal nature as he succumbs to his conscience and resolves to help Sarai. As they grow closer, he finds himself willing to risk everything to keep her alive; even his relationship with his devoted brother and liaison, Niklas, who now like everyone else wants Sarai dead.

As Victor and Sarai slowly build a trust, the differences between them seem to lessen, and an unlikely attraction intensifies. But Victor’s brutal skills and experience may not be enough in the end to save her, as the power she unknowingly holds over him may ultimately be what gets her killed.

This is their story…




 
REVIEW:

Talk about hitting the ground running. HOLY MOLY!
5+ STARS

Killing Sarai just shook up my favorites list! Wow.

This story starts out intense, continues to be intense, and ends intense. It does not stop!

I love an assassin. I can’t believe I love an assassin. J.A. Redmerksi…how did you do that?!?

***

Sarai is being held captive, by Javier, a sick, crazy man that believes he is in love with Sarai. Sarai is in an extremely abusive situation and has adapted to her life in the only way she knows how. She’s stuck in a world of sex, slavery, and violence. When she is given the opportunity to run, she takes off. The thing is, she’s surrounded by bad guys and has to choose between the lesser of the two evils.

Enter Victor. I love Victor!
”My father, he’s dead. He was my first kill.”
^ yep, that’s who I love!

Sarai tries to find refuge with Victor, but his loyalties lie with the Order and we never know whether or not he’s on Sarai’s side or not. Goodness gracious. I loved him, but I was terrified of him. Freaking terrified. Just when I thought Sarai was going to be ok, something crazy would happen and I’d be shaking again. I had a death grip on my kindle. I was SO nervous. Somehow she became the pawn in negotiations between Victor and Javier and it was c r a z y!
"I fear everything. What tomorrow will bring and if I’ll be alive to see the end of it. I’m afraid of Javier or anyone else coming through that door and killing me in my sleep. I’m afraid of never being able to live a normal live. I don’t even know what normal feels like anymore.”

Bravo, J.A. Redmerski! Brav-freaking-o! Killing Sarai is an intense roller coaster ride that is fiercely addicting and out-of-this-world breathtaking. It’s fearless. Easily the most panic inducing book I’ve EVER read. AN ABSOLUTE MUST READ FOR 2013 and every year after that.




Reviewed by:



AUTHOR LINKS:

Review: The Edge of Darkness by Melissa Andrea

 
 

After a tragic accident, Araya Noelle is left with a constant reminder that nothing is forever.

She is forced to give up her chance to be the youngest dancer accepted into Julliard & taking over their high society school by a graceful storm of determination is no longer an option. Instead of dwelling over her loss, she accepts the new future she’s been dealt. In a world as black as hers, there's no room for bitterness, no time for regret. Sheltered from the outside world, Araya has become suffocated by a life she has no control over. Until Ryland Dare comes crashing into her life.

You don’t know true darkness until you've felt light…

Like a firecracker, showering her with colorful sparks of freedom, Ryland quickly sweeps Araya away from her grey existence. For the first time since the accident, living in darkness is no longer something Araya wants to do willingly. Unleashed by the shadows of her reminder, being with Ryland, Araya touches light. Together they will learn what it’s like to feel alive for the first time.

At the edge of darkness, a ray of light, will dare them both to HOPE.

DARE them to LOVE
DARE them to LIVE

  
Review: 
 
4 intriguing stars!

As far as originality goes, A+. Storyline, A+. Writing style, eh, I struggled a bit. I’m not saying it was written wrong. I’m just saying I struggled with the style. I prefer writing that flows very much in sync with how people think. There was just something about it that gave me a hard time. That said…I still loved it, because the storyline was THAT good.

I can’t delve too much into the storyline, because I don’t want to give away what makes the story so different. Part of the fun is figuring that out as you read. I’ll tease you a little bit and tell you what I loved…

The minute I started this story it took my breath away. THAT. PROLOGUE. Oh my goodness, best prologue ever. Brilliant! It’s almost like reading in flashes. Suspenseful flashes are the best way I can explain it. Very cool.

The story itself is about two characters that come from very unhappy households. Ryland comes from a very wealthy family that is all about appearances and social status. They aren't nearly as picture perfect as their parents would like them to appear. From high expectations to parents that fight all the time, he and his siblings are miserable living at home (that's putting it gently). Ryland is just trying to help his little sister, Cara, make it through to graduation, so he can get her out of there and into college. He feels like he can't leave her behind.

Then there's Araya. She lost her mother and much of herself in an accident 4 years ago and is living with her bitter, hateful, nasty aunt. I. HATE. HER.

Ryland and Araya meet at the park, but are surprised to run into each other when Cara starts tutoring Araya. Cara tells Ryland that Araya is off limits to him. She doesn’t want Araya to get hurt by Ryland.

We all want what we can’t have though…so let this forbidden romance begin…


The circumstances surrounding Araya and Ryland's story makes their romance very intense and passionate. I truly fell in love with the two them. They are drawn to each other when everything else is pulling against them. There are some pretty big twists and turns towards the end. I was on the edge of my seat wondering how it was going to end. I was not expecting a cliffhanger. I wouldn’t call it a cliffhanger, but it’s definitely an ending that leaves issues unresolved. As much as I hated it, what happened is probably what needed to happen for Araya’s sake. I just wish I could get my hands on book 2 now!

P.S. I love Sebastian (spinoff?)

Reviewed by:

Monday, July 22, 2013

COVER REVEAL: When it Rains by Lisa De Jong

 
 
Title: When It Rains
Author: Lisa De Jong
Expected Release Date: September 21, 2013
Genre: New Adult Contemporary
Cover Designer: Mae I Design & Photography
Cover reveal organized by: Shh Moms Reading
 
One night changed my life forever.

Beau Bennett has been my best friend since I can remember. He was my first crush before everything came crashing down, and now he wants more, but it's more than I can give him. Things are different now. I wish I could tell him why, but I can't.

I haven’t told anyone.

I never knew how much I really needed him until the day he left for college, and I was completely alone.

Then one day, Asher Hunt rides into town with his dark, captivating eyes and cocky grin. He doesn't care who I used to be, he's simply breathing life into what’s left. People warn me to stay away from him, but he helps me forget the pain that has held me hostage for so long; something I thought was impossible before he walked into my life.

I’ve been hurt.

I’ve been saved.

And I’ve found hope.

I thought my story was written that night, but now I know it was only a new beginning. Until one secret turns my world upside down…

Again.


Teaser
When you live in small town, there’s not much to do on a fall Friday night after a football game. When the season started this year, some of the upperclassman at my high school decided that we should all have a bonfire after each game. It was really an excuse to drink and hook-up: two things I wasn’t interested in but I always went to hang out with my friends anyway.
That’s where I was that night.
The night I retreated into darkness, where the night sky had no stars, the day had no sun, and all hope was drained from my body.
The night my life ended.
And Beau Bennett wasn’t there. If he had been, he would’ve saved me, just like he always does. He was grounded that night for staying out past curfew the Friday before; in fact, it’s the only weekend I remember Beau ever being grounded. 
Life is a series of coincidences and that night, coincidence screwed me over.
The most important thing I lost was my entire sense of self. It took seventeen years to build my foundation and it took mere minutes to tear it down. 
I hate him.
The old Kate’s gone...and she’s never coming back.
And I’ll always hate when it rains.

 
About the Author
 
Lisa De Jong is a wife, mother and full-time number cruncher who lives in the Midwest. Her writing journey involved insane amounts of coffee and many nights of very little sleep but she wouldn't change a thing. She also enjoys reading, football and music.

 

Friday, July 19, 2013

BLOG TOUR: Edible by Ella Frank


Synopsis:

Edible, delicious, delectable. 

Rachel Langley is more than familiar with those three words in her line of work. After all, she spends her afternoons and evenings creating desserts so divine that your mouth with water and your taste buds will tingle. 

They aren't, however, the words she would have ever expected to think of when she locks eyes with a certain lawyer she knows only as Cole. 

With each encounter, the infuriatingly persistent man becomes more impossible to resist, and edible is the exact word that comes to mind. 

Crave, demand, covet. 

Cole Madison knows exactly what he wants, and Rachel Langley is it. From the moment he spotted her at Whipped, he knew he wanted to grab hold and take a bite. 

However, the woman has enigmatic moves, avoiding him at every turn. 

But not for much longer. 

Rachel's time is up, and as far as Cole is concerned, he's waited too long for a taste of what he desires. Nothing, including the woman herself, will stop him from consuming what he hungers for. 

The only question left is: Who will take the first bite?




My Review:

Holy caramel-covered goodness!! I don't know why I'm surprised that this book got me all hot and bothered, because let's face it, Ella Frank's novels always manage to rev my engine. (Believe me, I'm just as embarrassed as you are that I used that analogy but don't judge me. Please.) Edible was deliciously dirty and if it were an actual dessert, I'd go back for seconds...thirds...well, you get the picture! 



Rachel Langley is lost and lonely. After losing both of her parents, and seeing her brother and all her closest friends around her get married and live their happily ever afters, Rachel starts to feel like an outsider; like she doesn't belong. In an attempt to gain some control in her life...and over a man...she starts visiting Whipped, a slightly S&M night club. She wants to call the shots, she wants the power. After a rough past relationship, she has no intention of submitting to a man ever again. Until Cole...



Cole Madison is the epitome of sophistication on the outside -- tailored 3 piece suits, cuff links, not a hair out of place; he's very...GQ. But no one around him knows of his other side, the sexy as hell side. Tattoos, nipple piercing, and a little something else but I'll let your mind wander and leave it as a surprise for you ;) He spots Rachel at Whipped and is immediately drawn to her. He hasn't ever taken no for an answer before, and as much as Rachel resists him initially, he isn't about to back down now. 

I almost don't even know where to start. The chemistry between Rachel and Cole was palpable, almost like you could taste it. And if it were a flavor, there's absolutely no question what it would be -- caramel. I don't think I'll be able to look at caramel the same way. I make a caramel apple cheesecake every year for Thanksgiving and I have a feeling this year, my mind is going to be filled with thoughts of Cole and all the ways I could better use my homemade caramel on him instead of on my cheesecake! Ella, do you see what you've done to me?! :-) 

While I don't normally enjoy "shotgun relationships", there are exceptions to everything. Edible is one of my exceptions. I like seeing the gradual growth of a relationship; lust to like to love. I love build up. But here's the thing - the quickness of their connection to each other was believable. I wasn't rolling my eyes, thinking "you've got to be fucking kidding me with this..." and trust me, I've done that more times than I care to admit. They have a very unique bond and because of the wonderfully weaved story lines, the quick dive from lust to like to love didn't bother me; it actually made me happy. 

Edible is the last book in the Exquisite series, and for me, it's bittersweet. I adore all these characters so much that it's almost hard to think that their stories are over. As expected, we get caught up on the lives of Mason, Lena, Josh, and Shelly, and we are introduced to a new character, Logan, who will be getting his own story as well! This fella is intriguing so I am beyond excited that we get to learn more about him. (To clarify, his story is the start of a new series).

Oy vey, I'm rambling now. Let me just sum this up for you real quick: Edible is the cherry on top of a delicious series from Ella Frank. If you haven't read these books yet, you are seriously missing out. And just in case you need further encouragement, here's a little something: there are some piercings on some people that will...make your jaw drop. Intrigued yet? Of course you are! Go buy Edible right now and enjoy the deliciousness that is Cole Madison. If you're anything like me, you'll be going back for seconds...thirds...wait, didn't I already do this?? ;)

MY RATING: 4 STARS